For a forum that prides itself on trying new things, for the love of all that is novel and interesting, please can we have a new QotM? - Krill

Create an account  

Which patch to use? 1oom or kyrub?

I'm just getting into playing MOO1 - yes, in 2022.  Decided to have a look at some classic strategy games that I hadn't played yet and although I've played plenty of the classics, MOO1/2 aren't included in them.

What I've noticed is that MOO1 seems to have a *very* steep learning curve.  All the playthroughs I've seen are clearly from people who've got a lot of esoteric knowledge about how the game and AI works internally, and 100s of hours of experience with the game to have an intuitive knowledge of what to do next, what to allocate resources on, how many of which type of ship to put in a star system to ensure you can hold off the AI, etc.  I look forward to learning that!  bang

Anyway, it also looks like the vanilla game has some bugs, and it's a good idea to use a patch.  The main two are 1oom and kyrub's one.  Which should I use?  One difference I've noticed is the "dot in the tech research screen" on the kyrub patch isn't there on 1oom.  Is that an important addition I'll be wanting?  What are the other major gameplay/UI differences?